School Board Election Information

On Tuesday, February 7, 2017, registered voters residing in Rio Rancho school board districts 1, 3, and 5 will have the opportunity to elect school board members to serve four year terms (2017-2021). 

What board district do I live in?  (Interactive map)

The candidates are:

District 1:
Wynne D. Coleman
Margretta P. Franklin
Natalie Nicotine

District 3:
William Edward Dunn
Martha Evelia Janssen (incumbent)

District 5:
Catherine Jeanette Cullen (incumbent)

Absentee and Absentee-in-Person Voting:

Voters may request absentee ballots via phone and mail through the Sandoval County Bureau of Elections, P.O. Box 40, Bernalillo, NM  87004, 505-867-7577.  The office is located at 1500 Idalia Rd. NE Building D (in the County Administration Building near Idalia and NM 528).  Absentee ballots must be returned to and received by the Bureau of Elections no later than 7 PM on Election Day, February 7.

Voters may cast ballots in person at the Sandoval County Bureau of Elections from Friday, January 13 through Friday, February 3 during the Bureau's regular office hours, 8 AM to 5 PM.  (The office will be closed on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 16.)

Early Voting:

Voters may cast ballots at the Loma Colorado Main Library, 755 Loma Colorado Dr. NE, beginning on Wednesday, January 18. through Saturday, February 4.  Hours are 10 AM - 7 PM Tuesday through Saturday.

Election Day, Tuesday, February 7:

Voters may cast ballots at any of four polling sites conveniently located throughout Rio Rancho.  Hours are 7 AM - 7 PM:

Maggie Cordova Elementary, 1500 Veranda Rd. SE
Cielo Azul Elementary, 3804 Shiloh Rd. NE
Mountain View Middle School, 4101 Montreal Lp. NE
Loma Colorado Main Library, 755 Loma Colorado Dr. NE

Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) Election:

Voters who reside in the CNM boundaries have the opportunity to vote for CNM board members. On Election Day, February 7, voters may cast ballots at the same times and in the same location for both the CNM election and the RRPS school board election at three convenient sites: Maggie Cordova Elementary, Cielo Azul Elementary, and Mountain View Middle School.

For both early voting and election day, the Loma Colorado Library is a RRPS school board election polling site only.  CNM will have an early voting site in Rio Rancho at the Haynes Park Community Center, 2006 Grande Blvd. SE.  Their hours are Tuesday-Friday, 7 AM - 5 PM and Saturday, 8 AM - 2 PM. 

Rio Rancho entirely lies within CNM board district 3.  Thomas E. Swisstack, the incumbent CNM District 3 board member, is running unopposed.