Staff State, National, International Recognitions

Talented Young Teachers Earn State, National, International Honors
Posted on 11/30/2018
Sanford Award winner Denise Agan flanked by MVMS principal B.J. Hartford and asst. principal Jennifer Molina

Mountain View Teacher Earns First NM Sanford Award, $10,000 Prize

Denise Agan, 7th grade science teacher at Mountain View Middle School, got a great early holiday gift — a $10,000 award as New Mexico’s recipient of the first-ever National University System-Sanford Teacher Award.  She's shown here at center, with Mountain View Principal B.J. Hartford and Assistant Principal Jennifer Molina. The award recognizes commitment to creating inspirational and harmonious classrooms that support student development and achievement through emphasizing empathy and warmth towards all students, recognizing student strengths, and creating a positive learning environment.   Denise is now a candidate for the national Sanford Teacher Award. 

Randall Guarnieri

German Embassy Honors CHS Teacher

Cleveland High School German teacher Randall Guarnieri is one of three teachers nationally to earn the German Embassy Teacher of Excellence Award, presented by the American Association of Teachers of German.  The Embassy recognizes up-and-coming German teachers for excellence in teaching, creativity, and outstanding dedication.  As part of this recognition Guarnieri will have the opportunity to travel to Germany to learn more about the language and country that he can bring back and share with his students.  

Matt CasarezRams Marching Band Director Featured in National Publication

Matt Casarez, the band director at RRHS, has been chosen as New Mexico’s representative in the December 2018 edition of School Band and Orchestra magazine as one of its “50 Directors Who Make a Difference.”

Middle School Choir Director Named New Mexico's New and Emerging Music Educator

MIguel Jaramillo addressing the school boardEagle Ridge Middle School and Rio Rancho Middle School choir director Miguel Jaramillo is the New Mexico Music Educators Association (NMMEA) New and Emerging Music Teacher of the Year. This award recognizes teachers relatively new to the profession who exhibit exceptional teaching abilities and the potential for even greater success.  He's shown here addressing the RRPS School Board, as Executive Director of Fine Arts Kurt Schmidt looks on.  Jaramillo is a Rio Rancho High School graduate (Class of 2009) known while in high school as a talented guitarist. He began teaching for RRPS in 2015.