RRHS Phoenix Awards

Phoenix Award recipients 2018Thirty Rio Rancho High School students who despite great challenges in their lives will receive their high school diplomas this spring are the recipients of this year's RRHS Phoenix Award.  The dinner, as is the Crimson dinner, is generously sponsored by Don Chalmers Ford.  

Phoenix Award winners are often not academic aces or awesome athletes (though some are either or both).  But all are winners in the school of hard knocks.  Phoenix Award-winning students may have battled health issues, faced the death a family member or been abandoned by their family, gotten back on track after making bad choices, or simply clawed their way back after falling behind academically.  What they all have in common is that they've stayed the course through adversity to meet Rio Rancho High's rigorous standards and earn a diploma.  Along the way, they've become resilient and acquired life skills far beyond those of their peers: lessons that will serve them well all their lives. 

Lane Sego speaking at Phoenix AwardsPhoenix Award recipients are nominated by high school counselors, teachers, and staff and honored at an awards banquet where they are invited to speak about their high school journey.  Many thank parents, relatives, friends, teachers, and counselors for believing in them and supporting them.  The keynote speaker is always an individual who has faced similar obstacles on their road to success.  This year the keynote speech was given by one of the Phoenix recipients (and ranked in the top 25 academically), Lane Sego, who described his battles with health, psychological, and academic issues and the support he received from family, teachers, counselors, and friends.  He will graduate with a GPA in the top 25 for the Class of 2018.    

Rotary scholarship RRHS recipientsIn addition to receiving the Phoenix Award, three recipients were honored with $1,000 scholarships presented by the Rio Rancho Rotary.  This year's special scholarship winners, shown at left, are (left to right, from center) David Cope, Jezarae Van Zile, and Jenny Nguyen, shown receiving their awards from Rotary Club representative Jim Wheatley and President Roger Nagel.  

Romero scholarship recipients 2018

Four students -- Maria Arballo-Cadena, Cailon Bailon, Mireya Grijalva-Sanchez, and Evan Tafoya-Vallo – were presented with the $1,000 Tonya Raye Romero Scholarship, presented in Tonya’s honor by her mother and stepfather, Meredith Romero-Olivas and J.B. Olivas.  

This year’s Phoenix Award recipients are:

Arthur Acosta

Karen Amezquita-Quintana

Kashia Baca

Cailon Bailon

Amber Bennett

Emersen Brown

Justin Cabiltes

Crystal Cook

David Cope

Trey Del Curto

Scott Guardarrama

Misael Herrera

Meganne Holden

Aryus Hurd

Conner Kohen

Gabriella Johnson

Angelina Lopez

Taylor Margiotta

Adriel Martinez

Rachel Martinez

Alexandra McGahey

Jenny Nguyen

Simon Parra

Brooke Robinson

Savannah-Rae Romero

Lane Sego

Michael Tanguay

McKenna Singleterry

Evan Tafoya Vallo

Jezarae Van Zile