Celebrate Graduation 2012 with our students!

Rio Rancho Schools Graduate Nearly 1,000 Students
In ceremonies at the Santa Ana Star Center and the Cleveland High Concert Hall, 989 Rio Rancho Public Schools seniors were recognized for their achievements and received their hard-earned diplomas.

Independence High School
Independence High graduated 115 students this spring, about 100 of who participated in the graduation ceremony on May 19.  Senior speakers Scot Pricer, Lila Nicole Lopez, Robert Evans, Jessie McKinney, and Kathryn Santillanes acknowledged the contributions their teachers made to their success and led the students through the traditional tassel-switching and hat-tossing.  Students honored for academic achievement include Jonathan Patik, math; Michael Sotiris, science; Steven Skeets, language arts; and Garrick Anderson, social studies.
Rio Rancho Cyber Academy (Slideshow)
The Cyber Academy's small graduating class of 19, led by Valedictorian Sean Koss and Co-Salutatorians Dashawn Serrano and Kathryn Szucs received their diplomas in ceremonies on May 11. The commencement speaker was Gene Storz, the founder of E-2020, the online curriculum platform used at the Cyber Academy and other RRPS schools.  Storz is one of the leading national experts in the development, implementation, and support of virtual education programs like the Cyber Academy.  E-2020 is in use by more than 600,000 students in 8,000 schools. 

Rio Rancho High
Rio Rancho's largest senior class this year -- 439 students earned diplomas -- switched tassels and tossed confetti at the Santa Ana Star Center on May 18. Valedictorian Callihan Hamlin and Salutatorian Wesley Mebust led their fellow students into the arena and were joined onstage by student body president Bethany Grant and Class of 2012 president Larry Rodarte.  The commencement address, by tradition delivered by a faculty member chosen by the students, was delivered this year by Tom Gutierrez, who has been accorded this honor twice before. 

V. Sue Cleveland High
Cleveland High's second graduation ceremony in its short history as a school especially focused on the school's remarkable year in sports and activities -- seven state championships and podium finishes in several other sports.  It even included the "We believe that we will win!" chant -- but this time in reference to students' lives after school.  Valedictorian Reilly Andreasen, Salutatorian Brian Yarbrough, student body president Jonathan Johnsen, and Class of 2012 president Joseph Roback led 419 graduates through the ceremonies.  As at RRHS, the commencement speaker is a faculty member chosen by the seniors; this year's honoree is Brian Smith